Build Me a Smoothie (and make it healthy-licious)!

If you are familiar with my Nutri-Savvy FB page, you’ll recognize my weekly BUILD-A-RECIPE  posts where I start us off with a whole food and each of you adds on an ingredient until, well… we have a recipe. I couldn’t wait until Monday (the scheduled day for this exercise), so I decided to BUILD-A-HEALTHY GREEN SMOOTHIE. 

photo-319

Yup! That’s me drinking my delicious concoction inspired by my FB friends. When you have bad lighting and a grainy resolution – you may as well go creative and artsy. lol!!

Suggested Ingredients — Thanks to my FB friends … here it is!:

*CHARD (my starter ingredient)

*apple

avocado

*coconut oil

*beets

pineapple 

*flaxseed

*spinach

strawberries

kale (this one came after I started to prepare my smoothie)

The Recipe

Well… I had most the ingredients, sans the strawberries and pineapple. So I took out my Vitamix and decided to give it a go! And oops.. I forgot to add the avocado I had. But it tasted so delicious nonetheless.

Here’s the recipe I developed from my FB inspiration and it was healthy-licious:

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup fresh baby spinach
  • 1 cup chopped chard
  • 1 small apple
  • 1 kiwi
  • 1 TBS coconut oil
  • 1 TBS flaxseed
  • 1/2 roasted beet, chopped
  • 1/4 inch slice ginger root

Put water in blender and add in remaining ingredients. On high-speed setting, blend until it looks completely incorporated and smoothie, thick and delish! YUMMY! Enjoy. ; )

5 thoughts on “Build Me a Smoothie (and make it healthy-licious)!

Leave a Reply

